Press Releases

Date of Release: 
Thursday, May 15, 2008
Contact Info: 

Stephen Fleischman, Director 
608.257.0158 x 225 or

Katie Kazan, Director of Public Information 
608.257.0158 x 237 or

New Members Join Board

New Members Join Board of the
Madison Museum of Contemporary Art
MADISON, WI – The Madison Museum of Contemporary Art (MMoCA) has welcomed five new members to its Board of Trustees. The following appointments were approved at the museum's annual meeting on May 5, 2008: 

  • Shawn Carney, CPA and partner at McGladrey and Pullen LLP;
  • Lynne Eich, former director of the Dane County Cultural Affairs Commission;
  • Eric Lawson, president of Potter Lawson, Inc.;
  • Rick Phelps, senior vice president at M&I Bank and former Dane County Executive;

Diane Seder, executive vice-president, Milwaukee Valve Company. 
MMoCA Board president Jesse Ishikawa stated that the new members reflect invaluable talents and experience. “The museum has always been fortunate in the composition of its Board of Trustees. Dedicated members of the community have again stepped forward to support the museum's effort to present compelling exhibitions and thoughtful education programs for visitors of all ages.”
MMoCA's board officers for 2008–09 are Jesse Ishikawa, president; Daniel Erdman, vice-president; Kay Plantes, vice-president; Jim Yehle, vice-president; Bill DeAtley, secretary; and David Stein, treasurer.
Continuing trustees are Sylvia Beckman, president, The Art League; Marian Bolz, life trustee; James E. Burgess, past president; Gina Carter; Sharon Chamberlain; Bill DeAtley; Linda Greene; Gabriele Haberland; Peggy Hedberg; Valerie A. Kazamias, chair, Langer Society; Paula Kraemer; Rob Long; Joseph Melli; Mary Ellyn Sensenbrenner; David Stein; Anna Trull, president, Edition MMoCA; Sylvia Vaccaro; and William F. White.  

# # #